Tips for the Timbit Traveller

So here we are.  You’ve already brushed up on some of the things to avoid when travelling. But you might be thinking “I’ve never been on an extended trip before, where do I start?” Today I’ll leave you with some things to consider before beginning the planning process.

It all starts with research. If you know where you want to go, research it. Learn about the country. Transportation, food, accommodation and access to banking are things to consider. I suggest you consult a travel guide. Lonely Planet is a personal favourite but there are many out there.

Downloading a travel checklist is something I wish I’d done. Add things you might think would be helpful.

Keep your plans flexible. Leave blank days on your calendar so you can extend stays or call a last minute audible to an unknown city. I had the pleasure of staying an extra week in Koh Phi Phi, Thailand. Can you blame me?

A majestic view from Koh Phi Phi, Thailand.

A majestic view from Koh Phi Phi, Thailand. 

Expensive doesn’t necessarily mean better. It again comes down to research. I wish I’d known about Skyscanner’s listicles before I’d left. Sometimes travelling cheap can lead to pleasant surprises. Taking the bus with locals when going from Krabi to Koh Tao, Thailand I had an unexpected treat. I met a local who gave me some great insider info on the island. It made my trip.

A friendly serpent with my friend Lakshmana

A friendly serpent with my friend Lakshmana

So those are just a few ideas.  Throughout the planning process you should ask if you know someone who’s been there. Experience is knowledge, so ask every question that crosses your mind. You won’t regret it in the long run. If you follow my advice you’re sure to be laughing like my Australian mate here:

Leave a Reply

